When will my Violation points expire of my driving record?
It’s very simple. Tickets cannot be removed from your driver record until the convictions expire. The points can stay on your driving record for three, five or even seven years depending on the state you reside in. Usually, the points stay on your record for 3 years as far as the DMV goes.
If you are shopping for insurance rates, most companies will ask for violations, accidents and claims going back 5 years. Some will look back only 3 years. This could make a huge difference in your rate. Keep in mind that the points charged by the DMV and those charged by the insurance company can be completely different.
How long my violations will stay on my driving record?
Honestly, the violations will stay on your driving record forever. If the police run your license they will show up. However, the insurance companies only look back for a certain time period. They usually check for 3, 5 or even 7 years for major violations like DUI or careless driving, depending on what state you live in.
In the state of New Jersey, points are issued to drivers who violate traffic laws that involve only moving violations. After receiving six or more points in less than six months, the driver will be issued a surcharge which can be paid online or on the phone. Two points issued by the DMV will be deducted from the driving record following year if the driver has not committed any traffic violations. Points are considered to be permanent until deducted in the state of New Jersey.
Paying extra money in court will not save you money on your Car Insurance
People think that paying an extra fine in court will plunge the points from your driver’s license and they will not show for your car insurance quote.
Well…that’s not true. Paying extra in court for your traffic violations can save you some points on your driver license, but it will not save you money on your car insurance. The violations will stay on your record, and the insurance company will charge you extra money. This is only worth when you have accumulated 6 points for the last 6 months, so paying extra in court will help you avoid the state surcharges. In any other situation it is not worth paying extra money for your tickets.
Did you know? Your violation may not be chargeable for some insurance companies
You may be surprised to learn that some tickets or violations are not chargeable for some insurance companies. For example: Speeding ticket 1-14 MPH over is not a chargeable violation for Mercury Insurance Group. For all others is. Unsafe Driving is not chargeable for Allstate. For all others is.
Same goes for accidents. Most insurance companies charge for Not at Fault accidents. Many insurance companies charge only if you have more than 2 not at fault accidents, and some don’t charge if the claim payout is less than $1,000.
What is Driver License Compact (DLC)?
Driver License Compact (DLC) is an interstate compact used by states of the United States to exchange information concerning license suspensions and traffic violations of non-residents and forward them to the state where they are licensed known as the home state. Its theme is One Driver, One License, One Record. The home state would treat the offense as if it had been committed at home, applying home state laws to the out-of-state offense. The action taken would include, but not be limited to, offenses such as speeding, suspension of license or DWI/DUI. It is not supposed to include non-moving violations like parking tickets, tinted windows, loud exhaust, etc.
Under the Driver License Compact, in order for a driver’s state to penalize him/her for an out-of-state offense, the driver’s state must have the equivalent statute. If the driver’s state does not have the statute, no action can be taken. For example, the State of Indiana does not have a careless driving offense whereas Colorado does. If an Indiana licensed driver gets convicted of careless driving in Colorado, the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles takes no action.
Because not all states use Driver License Compact (DLC), if the violation is out of state most likely it will not be listed on your driving record.
LexisNexis or Choice Point?
Some violations would not show on your driving record. Yes. That is correct. The driving record from the third party LexisNexis or ChoicePoint vendors is different.
That’s why I encourage you to shop around before you make the final decision.
About the Author: Igor Sekuloski, CPIA is a CEO & Founder of Insurox, a national online insurance agency.